Pictures – Diving in Flores, Indonesia

I miss diving so bad! Many years ago back when I was 12 or 13 y.o. my dad took our family to visit Gili Trawangan in Lombok Island. That was when my dad told me and my sister to learn to dive. I was quite scared, we had practiced couple times in our resort pool. I remember my first dive there, I bet I was holding the guide all the time. I have been a myopic since first grade and it got worse each year. So you guess, I can’t see clearly without my glasses but at that time my degrees were 800 and they had goggles with degree up too 600 I think. So I can still see some blurry images.

Many years passed with me diving with blurry vision LOL I still enjoyed it though (most of times). Finally I started using my soft lenses in high school and I used it for diving and I think it was then I truly realised just how beautiful the underwater world is. I am always careful and cautious to ensure no sea water got into my eyes. Take note that hard lenses is not advisable for diving due to the pressure as I read up online, do consult with the professionals.

I have dived in several places in Indonesia — namely, Gili Trawangan; Bali; Bhunaken in Menado; Selayar in Sulawesi; Flores in Komodo Island, Raja Ampat and Biak in Papua and I gotta say, they are superb (even with my blurry vision LOL).

In this blog, Id share some of the underwater photos mostly taken by my sister. Enjoy!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Mooray eel – they scare the hell out of me

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Giant Clam

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Clown fish in her unique anemone

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Another cute inhabitant – Sea turtles!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
If the clam is still alive, the colour is still bright, has soft texture and also move when touched

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I told y they are creepy

I have seen a Mooray eel got out of coral hiding and I was swimming away quickly, it was long and scary, very unique and interesting species no doubt! Clown fishes are always an entertainment with their bright vibrant orange colour. And turtles are other show stealer.

Flores or many of you know it as Komodo Island is not only known for its beautiful diving spots, it is also the only place where you can find the rare species of Komodo dragon out in the wild. It is also known for its great hiking scenery at Pulau Padar and beautiful beaches and pink beach, where the sand is pink in colour literally.

The only thing that I can be proud of Indonesia is definitely its beautiful sea. I have dived in some part of the great barrier reef in Cairns and it was not even comparable to any diving spots I have went in Indonesia (maybe just yet). And with the rising popularity of recreational diving in Indonesia, I hope divers and developers would be responsible in ensuring the sustainability of the ecosystem. Indonesian waters are beautiful because many were yet to be explored and remained untouched by humans. I hope people would see that there is a limit to everything and not just focus on personal and profit gains. Keep the sea alive! #keeptheseaalive

Love,

Gabby xx

Leave a Reply

